Differences between Hold'em and Omaha

In poker, players who are new to one of the disciplines often wonder: How is Hold'em different from Omaha? For quite some time, both games are popular and gather a large number of poker players at their tables. And at first glance it might seem that the difference is only in the number of starting cards. While in reality they have much more differences. But first things first.

Hold'em and Omaha: What is common?

Perhaps it would be more correct to begin the consideration of these disciplines in general terms. They function according to similar rules, namely:

  • Participants get their starting cards before the start of trading, followed by two opponents put down the small and big blind;
  • In each of the distributions four stages go sequentially: preflop, flop, turn and river;
  • Trading takes place on 4 streets, and players can choose the action: fold, bet, raise, call, check;
  • The bank receives the player who is either left alone in the bank, or showed the best combination after opening;
  • Combinatorics used to determine the winners is the same.

Difference in combinations

At the very beginning of the game, the number of cards on hand will be different: only 2 cards in Texas poker and 4 in Omaha. Of course, in Omaha, the chance to put together a good and beautiful combination is much higher. After all, the more cards on hand, the more opportunities. And it impresses many. But remember that your opponents have the same opportunities.

Texas Holdem Omaha cards in hand

The following difference follows: in the final combination in Omaha, the player must use 2 cards from his hands and 3 from the board. Necessarily 2 cards - no more, no less. In Hold'em, you can use 1 card from the hand or you can not use a single one if the table option is better than what you have on hand.

Do not overestimate the value of paired hands when playing Omaha. If you dropped a high pair, it is rather a good tone than a mistake. This is what professionals do. So you do not give your opponents information about which cards you have and what benefits they can count on. The strength of the pair will be much greater if there is a reserve, for example, in the form of cards of the same suit. Suppose in Hold'em you have two aces in your hands - the combination is strong, the chances of winning are growing and you can safely raise bets. In Omaha, this situation is unstable and you need to be careful, especially if the hand does not have two suited cards.

Features of positions and strategies

Of course, you know the importance of a position from any poker discipline. Unlike Hold'em, in Omaha it has even more weight. There are several reasons for this:

  • Based on the structure of bets, hands can be played over several circles, which must be taken into account in building the strategy;
  • Having a good position, you are growing opportunities to play a hand and, accordingly, call positions, becoming a serious favorite.

We note one more feature of Omaha - it will not be clear on the preflop who becomes the favorite. Let's say you have very strong cards in your hands. But even with this condition, the probability of being in a leading position against one player will be only 65%. What to say about the rest. Typically, the value is no more than 5%.

But after the flop, the game is gaining momentum. Rates are rising, and the size of the potential bank on the turn, and even more so on the river, will significantly exceed the size of early bets. Conclusion - Omaha is more of a post-flop game.

In summary, it is worth noting that for beginners in poker Omaha will be a more intricate game. Indeed, to deal with so many cards and possible combinations, you need a lot of experience and time. Even playing Texas Hold'em poker players have difficulties. In any case, it is worth trying your strengths in each of the disciplines - this will bring you invaluable experience and increased professionalism.

We told in detail how Hold'em differs from Omaha, and the decisive choice is already yours.

en_USEnglish
ru_RURussian en_USEnglish

Различия Холдема и Омахи

В покере игроки, которые плохо знакомы с одной из дисциплин, часто задаются вопросом: чем отличается Холдем от Омахи? Уже довольно давно обе игры пользуются популярностью и собирают большое число покеристов за своими столами. И на первый взгляд может показаться, что разница только в количестве стартовых карт. В то время как на самом деле различий они имеют куда больше. Но обо всем по порядку.

Холдем и Омаха: что общего?

Пожалуй, более правильным будет начать рассмотрение этих дисциплин с общих черт. Функционируют они по схожим правилам, а именно:

  • Участники получают свои стартовые карты до начала торговли, следом двое противников проставляют малый и большой блайнд;
  • В каждой из раздач последовательно идут четыре этапа: префлоп, флоп, терн и ривер;
  • Торговля ведется на 4-х улицах, причем игроки могут выбирать действие: фолд, бет, рейз, колл, чек;
  • Банк получает тот игрок, который или остался один в банке, или показал лучшую комбинацию после вскрытия;
  • Комбинаторика для определения победителей используется одна и та же.

Различие в комбинациях

В самом начале игры количество карт на руках будет разное: всего 2 карты в Техасском покере и 4 в Омахе. Безусловно, в Омахе шанс собрать хорошую и красивую комбинацию куда выше. Ведь, чем больше карт на руках, тем больше возможностей. И это многим импонирует. Но помните, что такие же возможности появляются и у ваших оппонентов.

Texas Holdem Omaha cards in hand

Отсюда вытекает следующее различие – в итоговой комбинации в Омахе игрок должен использовать 2 карты с рук и 3 с доски. Обязательно 2 карты – ни больше, ни меньше. В Холдем же можно использовать 1 карту из хенда или можно не использовать ни одной, если на столе вариант лучше, чем у вас на руках.

Не стоит переоценивать значение парных рук, играя в Омаху. Если вы сбросили высокую пару, это скорее хороший тон, чем ошибка. Именно так поступают профессионалы. Так вы не даете оппонентам информацию о том, какие карты у вас и на какую выгоду они могут рассчитывать. Сила пары будет куда больше, если есть резерв, например, в виде карт одной масти. Предположим, в Холдеме у вас два туза на руках – комбинация сильная, шансы на выигрыш растут и можно смело поднимать ставки. В Омахе же такая ситуация неустойчива и нужно действовать осторожно, особенно если в хенде нет двух одномастных карт.

Особенности позиций и стратегии

Конечно, о важности позиции вы знаете из любой покерной дисциплины. В отличие от Холдема, в Омахе она имеет еще больший вес. На то есть несколько причин:

  • Исходя из структуры ставок хенды могут играться на протяжении нескольких кругов, что нужно обязательно учитывать в построении стратегии;
  • Имея хорошую позицию у вас растут возможности разыграть хенд и, соответственно, коллировать позиции, становясь серьезным фаворитом.

Отметим еще одну особенность Омахи – на префлопе не будет понятно, кто же становится фаворитом. Допустим, у вас на руках очень сильные карты. Но даже с этим условием вероятность быть в лидирующей позиции против одного игрока будет равняться лишь 65%. Что уже говорить об остальных. Обычно же значение составляет не больше 5%.

А вот после флопа игра набирает обороты. Ставки растут, и размер потенциального банка на терне и тем более на ривере будет значительно превышать размер ранних ставок. Вывод – Омаха, скорее, пост-флоп игра.

Резюмируя, стоит отметить, что для новичков в покере Омаха будет более замысловатой игрой. Ведь, чтобы разобраться с таким количеством карт и возможных комбинаций, нужно немало опыта и времени. Даже играя в Техасский Холдем у покеристов возникают сложности. В любом случае, пробовать свои силы стоит в каждой из дисциплин – это принесет вам бесценный опыт и рост профессионализма.

Мы подробно рассказали, чем отличается Холдем от Омахи, и решающий выбор стоит уже за вами.